The Best Way To Unwind After A Monday

I don’t think I am alone when I say that I loathe Monday’s. It always seems like everyone is rushing & people are grouchier than usual because it is the start of the work week. Today was no different than any other Monday.

I am fortunate to not have to work on this loathed day a lot, but that doesn’t mean I don’t experience a “case of the Monday’s” from time to time. Today was all about rushing for us. Rush my daughter off to school, rush home to clean house & put up Christmas decor, rush to a staff meeting at the hospital, rush back to pick my daughter up from school, come home, do homework, & the list goes on & on. Even though I was exhausted by the time 4 p.m. rolled around, I was determined to do the one thing that gives me peace & relaxation. Hiking with my dogs & family.

_mg_5425

So we headed out to Silly Mountain, which is a short 15 minute drive from our home in Apache Junction. The weather was perfect, in the high 60’s, with a slight breeze & an overcast sky. My kids love to hike with me & this trail is fairly easy for them. We hiked to the top of the mountain in roughly 15 minutes & sat at it’s peak watching the sun go down. I can honestly say, there is nothing more peaceful than that. We sat up there until the sun went down, it started to get chilly, & the kids started complaining about being hungry. The dogs were loving every minute of this time with their human’s. Especially because they were getting tons of Zuke’s treats for their good behaviors!

_mg_5450
Best Trail Treat Ever! Zuke’s Are Our Go To Treat!

So how do you unwind after getting through Monday? Hiking has proven to decrease negative, obsessive thoughts from our lives. It has also been shown to help people think more creatively. Most importantly, hiking is great exercise & if your heart is pumping, your brain is pumping as well. I’m sure we have all heard the expression “healthy body, healthy mind” at once in our lives.  Well I feel like hiking definitely gives you both! My co-workers, family & friends have all told me what a different person I am today because of certain changes I have made in life, including starting to hike again. I have made it a personal goal to at least hike once a week & what better day to do it than a horrible, no good, very bad Monday!

_mg_5444
We Love Our Camping Bandanna From Oliver & Me!

I sincerely hope everyone has had a fabulous Monday. It is almost over!

Leave a Reply

