BagMate: The Best Seat In The House

We had always seen these inflatable loungers on t.v. but I came across Rhino Products lounger thanks to a post on Instagram.  And when we received the Bag Mate in the mail a little over a month ago, we were more than excited to get out on the trail & try it out. Want a comfortable seat that you can pretty much take and inflate anywhere? Check out our latest review on the Bag Mate by Rhino Products below.

img_4569

The Bag Mate comes in a nifty little back pack that is super easy to carry & the product itself weighs just under four pounds. There is a little plastic stake & tie down string included with the pack that you can use to anchor the Bag Mate into the ground & keep it from blowing away when you aren’t sitting in it. You can also anchor other Bag Mates to it by the mole system straps. My seven year old daughter carried the Bag Mate pack, as I was carrying our hiking pack, & was able to make it to the other side of the lake without complaining of the weight.

img_4599

I have to be honest…I had a difficult time actually setting the Bag Mate up myself. It’s supposed to be really simple: scoop air from around you to fill the bag & seal it air-tight by rolling the end & locking the sturdy buckles. I was not so lucky! You can see in the photo above that the Bag Mate is long, I am quite short & I was unable to collect enough air in the bags to give a person the support they would need to sit on the lounger successfully. After about thirty-minutes of trying, I grew frustrated & gave up. I had my two daughters & my dog to keep an eye on & did not have time to mess with the Bag Mate.

After giving myself some time to think things over as to why this product did not work for me, I came to the conclusion that I was the one not doing something right. Whether it be because I was not closing the bag up fast enough, my size vs the Bag Mate size, or that I was just too preoccupied with my kids to give it a good chance…I decided to enlist the help of my boyfriend, Ryan, on our next outing together. I wanted to make sure this product had fair chance for a good review! After about a month of trying to coordinate a time for Ryan & I to get out together, our computer crashing &  car troubles, we finally were able to make it out last night to commence the new review.

2016-11-131

 

 

As you can see, Ryan is a lot taller than I am…almost a whole foot taller as a matter of fact. Our destination was at the top of a rocky “mini-mountain” that was covered in pokey bushes & cacti. While I was busy setting up my camera tripod to capture the rise of the super moon, Ryan was busy getting our sofa ready to go. In roughly 2 minutes, Ryan had the Bag Mate out of its pack, inflated, & put to good use! We had the best seat in the house for the arrival of a super moon that the world will not see again for several decades!

_mg_5191
Ryan & the kids waiting for the super moon in comfort!

It is safe to say that if it weren’t for the Bag Mate, we would have had two grouchy children & our amazing experience viewing the super moon wouldn’t have been as amazing. Its rip-stop nylon made us confident that there would be no punctures in the lounger as we all piled on top of it & it sat on top of rough gravel, cacti spines, & next to a pokey bush! It also held air successfully, with over 250 pounds of body weight on top of it, for over an hour. As you can see in the main photo of this post, Hope was even able to climb on it & her nails did not puncture the Bag Mate. I am so glad I decided to give this product another try because, now, I cannot wait to take it out again!

img_5201
The Bag Mate held up to the dangerous desert of Arizona, that’s a huge test in itself! Just sayin’!

If you don’t like the blue color, Bag Mate comes in FIVE other cool colors for you to choose from. It is the low price of $34.55 plus shipping, unless you buy more than $49 worth of product on Amazon & you qualify for free shipping. The Bag Mate is waterproof, & was easy to clean with a damp wash cloth so we could use it indoors as well (which Ryan is doing right now tee-hee). If you don’t hike, you can also take it with you to the beach, lake or even use it as a pool float! I think the next time we camp, I will bring it along and sleep on it instead of the hard ground! Ryan calls it the “posturepedic canoe couch” because it is so comfortable & helps him with his posture while playing video games or watching t.v.

You can find the Bag Mate by Rhino Products on Amazon by following the link HERE

Here’s to having great adventures & being comfortable while doing so! Thank you Rhino BagMate!

45 Comments Add yours

  1. Dash Kitten says:

    Oh this looks So amazing! Thanks for a good review and a peek at AZ. We visited for BlogPaws and I can’t wait to come back. This bag deserves a lot of success, it’s ingenious, simple and (especially with a pup) a lot of fun!

    Like

    1. You are welcome! AZ is pretty cool in fall/winter time but summers are so brutal! I have lived here all 28 years of my life and still cant get used to the heat lol =)

      Like

  2. I’ve seen these advertised and thought they looked great – awesome review.

    Like

    1. Thanks! Yeah I was so excited when the company sent me one to review! I had been wanting to see what they were about for a long time.

      Like

  3. Kelly says:

    What an interesting looking product, I can’t get over the size of the Bag Mate once its filled. I think I would have the same issues as you did because of my height.

    Like

    1. Yea, Kelly…It was super frustrating I couldn’t get it to inflate. I am 5’2 and the bag is like 6’4 when inflated so…I guess I shouldn’t have expected any less lol

      Like

  4. That looks like a really cool outing accessory! I would probably have the same issue as you, since I”m so short. So I would definitely have to bring the hubby along! 🙂

    Like

    1. Hubby’s come in handy like that 😉

      Like

  5. Susan Bewley says:

    Oh my gosh this look so cool! I would have loved having something like this when we were moving from temporary apartment to temporary apartment with my husband’s jobs. I could also see our malamutes having a field day snuggling on it!

    Like

    1. Haha yes it is definitely comfortable and my pups love climbing in it with me. I have no doubt your babies would have done the same and enjoyed it just as much!

      Like

  6. hbethp says:

    So much better than sitting on rocks, which is what we usually end up doing.

    Like

    1. Definitely! Rocks are no fun!

      Like

  7. amyshojai says:

    Now that looks like a great product. Magic would claim it, for sure.

    Like

    1. LOL. Seems to be a common response to this post..my pet would steal it. Haha. They know comfort when they see it!

      Like

  8. I’ve seen these at a number of events – they are really promoting them – but I didn’t know they folded up so small. Will give them another look.

    Like

    1. Yeah! And the backpack this one comes in is really neat. Super easy to carry.

      Like

  9. nichole says:

    That looks pretty amazing. What an innovative product!

    Like

  10. raisingyourpetsnaturally says:

    I want, I want, I want! That looks so cool and so snuggly. Love the color and I can’t believe how small it packs.

    Like

    1. We might do a giveaway with one soon! Will keep everyone posted =)

      Like

  11. Ruth Epstein says:

    A lot of people are using them in the dog park lately and they seem to be awesome 🙂

    Like

  12. That’s pretty cool – especially that the whole family can fit into it.

    Like

    1. I am not sure it was made for a whole family lol but we made it work! And it was still comfy =)

      Like

  13. Sonja says:

    We have a similar item (different company mind you) and love it. It floats! So a hoot at the lake. The only thing we struggle with is getting it full of air so it can the weight of two humans.

    Like

    1. Yes, Sonja…that was the issue I had. If Ryan, my man, is around to help it is perfect. But I can’t get it to hold enough air on my own!

      Like

  14. Wow -looks like an amazing product. My hubby is 6’1″ and fit so I think he could inflate easily. I must admit I like comfort if I venture out so worth the investment.

    Like

    1. Definitely! Ryan uses it in the house now too lol He holds it in front of our floor fan and it inflates in a snap! Perfect for him to use while playing video games!

      Like

  15. This looks a lot more comfortable than the ground! It must have been awesome to see the super moon out there!

    Like

    1. It definitely was Beth! And it packed away super quick/easy once I got the photos I needed. Perfect because we had to scramble down a rocky hill with 2 dogs and 2 kids lol

      Like

  16. We’ve seen the Bag Mate on TV and have wondered how it truly works – so thank you for sharing your review! Was it easier if it was windy or would that have made it more hard (because you have to hold it more firm)? Very interesting – we may have to try it!

    Like

    1. Glad I could help give you some insight on it! I feel like a breeze definitely helps but if it is a strong wind, like I experienced at the lake, it is more difficult to hang on to!

      Like

  17. Looks very comfortable. I’d definitely have problems setting it up because I’m, less than 5 feet tall

    Like

    1. I wish they made like…kids sized ones! That way if I wanted to take it out on my own I wouldnt have to worry about not being able to set it up. My man doesnt come on all my adventures with me! lol

      Like

  18. FiveSibesMom says:

    Looks super comfy! Thanks for the review!

    Like

  19. Carol Bryant says:

    I am loving this. I would totally get into it on our picnics with the dog. What a fun thing to have on hand.

    Like

    1. Keep an eye out, Carol…we might be doing a giveaway with this company soon!

      Like

  20. I missed the super moon this week! I’m so glad you did not — this looks so great for our beach trips! I can never find anything comfortable to lie on so we end up using floaties as lounge chairs. I’d prefer this instead!

    Like

    1. I see it used on the beach all the time! That would definitely be perfect for you!

      Like

  21. Looks nice and comfortable. It’s nice the dogs can use it too without worrying about ripping.

    Like

    1. Definitely! Because our pups go everywhere with us =)

      Like

  22. I’ve seen this on TV before, I so want one! I always wondered how they would be against dog nails, now I know 🙂

    Like

    1. Keep an eye out, Paul… we might be doing a giveaway with one here soon. 😉

      Like

  23. Cathy Armato says:

    What a cool product! I can imagine being out on a camping trip and having this super comfy “chair” to sit it, it would feel like heaven. I’d probably have trouble getting it blown up manually, I’m just not good like that but my hubby could probably do it in a snap, he IS good like that! Thanks for sharing this product, I wish I could PIN it to my Pet Travel board but I don’t see a PIN button. I’ll share elsewhere.

    Like

    1. I will have to add a Pinterest button. I don’t have Pinterest myself so maybe that’s why. But yes..the next time we go camping I am bringing it and sleeping in it =)

      Like

  24. This looks like a real good product the fact that it is portable and so comfy and ideal for campers

    Like

Leave a Reply

